Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Stats-and-that
Hey guys,

Now, being a baseball-rookie, there are parts of the game that I really know sod all about, but would quite like to. Being an actuary by trade, and baseball being the stats-heavy game it is, obviously stats are one area where I want to know more.

Now, I know the obvious ones like ERA (I know it sounds stupid, but that one took me bloody ages to work out without asking anyone), OBP, RISP and WHIP (which personally I quite like, but what do I know?).

Now, I know there are other, better (?) stats out there, for example I think I've read something on here about ERA+ or something, I have no bloomin' idea what that is. Now, instead of going onto Wikipedia or whatever and looking, I think I'd much rather hear from you guys what you think some interesting/good stats are for me to know about.

I also get the feeling that some people prefer certain stats to others, so will give you a chance to put your ideas across to others I guess! I'm guessing some stats are only really useable/worthwhile in certain situations, and comparing stats of certain players to others of a different 'type' is kinda pointless, but as a geeky actuary, I'd love to delve a bit deeper and put my mind to comparing all the different ones and see the correlations and whatever.

So, yeh....fire away! (Seriously, any stat, no matter how simple, I'm an idiot).
Because a pitcher's ERA can be greatly effected by the ballparks they play in or the league they play in (American league pitchers often have higher ERAs because of the DH), ERA+ was invented. I don't understand how it is actually calculated, but it is basically a way of standardizing ERA to account for variables such as ballparks. When you look at ERA+, 100 is middle of the road. Anything more than 100 is above average and anything below is sub par. It's a quick easy way of evaluating a pitcher.